Skip to content

When handcrafts collide

April 10, 2011

Knitting or possibly cross-stitch were my first ever handcrafts. I can’t really remember which one I learnt first from my nana.  I’ll always be grateful for her patience as I asked yet again how to do a stitch, fix a whole, unscramble my embroidery threads.  I also learned to love the sewing machine once I was able to get on my mum’s old bernina.  Probably most of my way through primary or high school and into uni I would be doing one or other of those three traditional crafts.

I still do enjoy doing any of those three – although I’d have to say that my sewing skills need more attention. Add to that my inclination toward family history, my love of the smell in the office stationery cupboard…. the thrill of finding the “right” feel to a pen or paper… the coveting of thick, richly textured paper…. oh yeah. It was just a matter of time before scrapbooking, card making, quilting all found their way into my craft repertoire.

Once of the nicest things I love about being “into” crafts is the way that I can find ways of giving to people. Sometimes it might only be a card – but the recipients know that I have been thinking of them as I create that. Other times I get the chance to add something a little more.

Like when a colleague at work has a new baby girl.



What’s more, I adore how Stampin’ Up! has sooo many ways of combining the things I love!  (Some of you might have clicked with the colours I’ve used – this was the jacket I was working on when baby arrived early)

I’ve used……

Stamps: Hand Knit
Cardstock: Cake Crumb, Early Espresso, Whisper White
Ink: Blushing Bride, Cake Crumb, Early Espresso
Other: Scallop Trim Border, Large Oval punch, 3/4″ circle punch, Crop-O-Dile
One Comment
  1. April 11, 2011 7:01 am

    I think this stamp set is so cute, but have often thought “how much would I use it”? After seeing this wee tag you made up to go with your knitted gift, I have decided I HAVE TO GET IT!! I am a knitter too, although haven’t made anything for quite sometime. I love that I could personalise my knitted gift even more with this set. Thanks Kelly – SOLD

Comments are closed.

