Skip to content

Happy Birthday Dad!

February 2, 2011

My Dad’s birthday is tomorrow. I find making cards for him quite daunting. For a start he’s a male… and like a lot of us out there, male cards seem to take that little bit of extra thought. To add to that wee challenge, Dad has been quietly encouraging of my Stampin’ Up! endeavours. Perhaps because he has been involved in a few small business activities over his lifetime.  He knows the challenges of carving out a sustainable small business.   I always like my cards for him to contain some special touches – but still keep it simple. He’s one of the older, more silent type of men after all!

I was thrilled back in September to see Autumn Days make it into the new IBC. Something about it said more than just “thanksgiving” or “autumn” to me…. definitely one that I saw leaning towards the male camp. Had to have it then!!

 

Those of you with eagle eyes might pick up on the fact I’ve attempted brayering again. At first I was a bit bummed with those lines that seemed to appear but instead of tossing the card as ruined at that first step, I kept going. By the end, I was thrilled with the result… I think it gives the impression of a misty hill – what do you think?

I also loved how a little bit of Marina Mist with the muted colours gives the overall card some zing.

I also have to tell you how much I loved the end result – it came about as an unintended limited supplies challenge! On our week trip to Ohakune, I took a bunch of supplies with me to ensure that I could get some planning done and actually get some of the first cards of the year that I need. All well and good then. Imagine my despair when I go to sit down and work – only to realise that the cutting tools including my punches were all left in a packed bag at home!! Still, I had cardstock, ink and stamp along with one border punch. The end result I think certainly hides the limited supplies crisis I faced!! 😆

I’ve used……
Stamps: Autumn Days, Party this way
Cardstock: Cake Crumb, Marina Mist, Whisper White
Ink: Cake crumb, Soft Suede, Basic Grey, Marina Mist
Other: Scallop Trim Boarder, Mat pack, Paper-piercing tool, brayer
One Comment
  1. Donna permalink
    February 4, 2011 6:26 am

    I think your Dad will love this card – good work on the brayering – I really must try to get my head around mine

Comments are closed.

