Skip to content

A CASE Challenge

June 8, 2010

How are you all surviving the current wintery blast? For those of you that have enjoyed a long weekend in the form of Queens Birthday weekend like I have, I’m sure that you got in some crafty time. I would have liked a bit more time for the craftiness – but I managed to get through a good deal of well needed purging. 12-18 month boy clothes were sent packing in four (yes, FOUR!!)  kitchen tidy bags to across the road where the neighbours little boy has just turned One. I missed his first steps just before I knocked on the door – I remember those days well!

I also managed to sort through many a crafting supply (…er… “hoard”!) and fill two big Stampin Up! boxes of old crafty goodness that I know just won’t be used. The times have changed and so have my style, so they’re being sent over to the school to be put to good use.

The one crafty thing I did get done was to make a card based on either a challenge or swap that Leonie Schroder did a few posts back. She used Pocket Silhouettes – one of my all time favourite sets – so I set out to CASE her card as best I could from memory. I see now she had a little more Wow to it with the colours – I was inspired to see how the new Soft Suede worked with one of my all time favourite colours Baja Breeze.

I quite like the look – although it was a little more subdued than I thought it would be. The Faux Brads down the side were created by punching three holes using my Crop-O-Dile so the Baja Breeze layer shows through, then coating with Crystal Effects for that raised, shiny “Brad” look.

The card itself is destined for a friend whose birthday is coming up (tomorrow!) so I wanted to make sure there is plenty of room for a newsy message on the inside. I’ve kept the inside simple with a trio of holes again and some coordinated stamping.

Thanks Leonie for some great inspiration – the card took less than 15 minutes to put together. Perfect for when you need a card in a hurry. And super for a quick crafty fix amid the purging!!

Don’t forget to check in here or on my Demonstrator Business Website for Week 2’s Deal of the Week.

One Comment
  1. June 9, 2010 6:34 am

    What a lovely, quick birthday card Kelly. I love Pocket Silhouettes. Might have to CASE the CASE – Thanks!

Comments are closed.

