Skip to content

Cupcake love

April 12, 2010

Ok, I know I said check back today for news about Stampin’ Up! Colour Renovation – and I will get to it. However, in starting this post, I really, really wanted to share some gorgeousness from the weekend first. If the inter-web, ‘puter, and wordpress play nice together and let me do it quickly, I’ll include the Renovation news too. Otherwise, that will come in a separate post. Keep reading and you will see why I wanted to share some cupcake love with you.

First of all, my crafty girlfriend’s and I headed off to Waikanae to Keryn’s family beachhouse where we have been getting together for crafty weekends away for maybe three or four years now. We always have fun, usually produce a great deal and generally spend the time enjoying each other’s company and creative energy. Like I said in yesterday’s post, I wasn’t feeling able to recharge in a creative way so headed up there with the distinct purpose of chilling out with some great friends. Well, they chilled me out in no time flat and by Saturday, I had the urge to head to a little shop and gather a couple of papers. By the end of the day I had two layouts to come and add photos to at home. Using scraps and a bit of borrowed cardstock, I was also able to get a couple of bit and bobs together to turn into fully fledged cards here at home.

Around the table: me, Donna, Jackie (in blue) and Vicky... with Keryn being the photographer

By the afternoon, we were in need of a little break. Generally, this means a breath of fresh air via a walk along the beach to the dairy for an ice-cream. However, Jackie’s daughter had arranged a wonderful treat for us and knocked on the door to deliver these:

Cupcake heaven!!!

And, just in case you haven’t appreciated the full and total yumminess – the top ones are coffee cupcakes:

...I'm so disappointed that I can't bring you smell-o-net - you're mouth would truly be watering.

And the bottom row were Vanilla Bean:

....imagine the smell of divine freshly baked vanilla cookies....!

Sitting outside on the porch in the sun with a cup of coffee and one of these, surrounded by good friends – life just doesn’t get a lot sweeter at times!

After we returned from a yummy dinner at the Waikanae pub, there was a little more crafting time for those of us that were so inclined. I managed to put together this little number in order to thank Jackie’s daughter:

Cupcake thanks!

And just for fun, because we could, the inside looks like this:

Seriously, how cool is THIS cupcake?!

I left Keryn to complete the details inside – mostly because I was a little afraid of getting the Irish spelling of her name wrong! So, I’m hoping that the crafty acting-posties will have gotten the thanks to the cupcake queen and that she enjoyed a little giggle at it as much as we enjoyed her special treat.

The sentiment on the front of the card was created by stamping one of the fun “It’s a Loop Thing” stamp set from the Level 3 hostess bundle in Pink Pirouette and then overstamped with the greeting from the Level 1 Best Yet set in Riding Hood Red. A little sponging around the edges of the punched shape gives warmth and definition to the element. I’ve also popped it up from the Bella Rose DSP and added a touch of Old Olive grosgrain ribbon for some simple detail. The Wide Oval punch was used on the sentiment, while the Scalloped Border was used on the Pink Pirouette border.

Comments are closed.

