Skip to content

Birthday card x2

March 7, 2010

My sister’s birthday is also in February – and I’ll also be seeing her at the end of next week. Not wanting to get a flea in the ear from her, I thought I better make sure that I hadn’t forgotten her birthday as well as Dad’s!

The design for this really evolved as I was working with it. A clean and simple card with a few dashes of something extra! I wanted to play with my crimper – it’s another new tool that found its way into my craft space! Seeing as little sis isn’t the overly fluffy, frou-frou kinda girl, I kind of liked the effect of the corrugated card – achieved with the lovely wide crimper from Stampin’ Up!. I also sponged the edges of the crimped squares to help define them – otherwise you tend to lose the effect when you have tone-on-tone layers. Popping an element or two up on Stampin’ Dimensionals is also a great way to give a card some texture or dimension.

Again my Crop-A-Dile got a bit of a work out by way of adding detail to my scalloped edge. Layering it up with a co-ordinating piece of card-stock really helped to define that edge too. And I just love how the retired Bayou in-colour ribbon from a couple of years ago works so well with the Baja from this year!

Materials

Stamps: Pocket Silhouettes 115852 $39.95, Happy Moments SAB only
Cardstock: Baja Breeze, Not Quite Navy packs of 24 $12.50  Whisper White 106549 pack of 40 $16.25
Ink: Ruby Red, More Mustard, Old Olive Stampin Write Markers $6.75, Stazon Black $17.95

Other: Mat Pack 105826 $22.50, Crop-A-Dile 108362 $64.95, Crimper 101618 $44.95, Scallop Edge punch 112091 $35.95, Scallop Square punch 112081 $35.95, Double stitched ribbon 08/09 in-colour

Comments are closed.

