Skip to content

…And you thought I forgot!

March 6, 2010

Well, my Dad will have. Birthdays at the beginning of the year are always a struggle for me to get to – especially if they are out of town ones! This year, however, I really did exceed my own belated record – and managed to miss the date of Dad’s birthday in February! Oh, I remembered it all right – but let little things get in the way of actually calling or even texting him on the day. Such a bad daughter am I!!!

So, in order to make up for it, I’ve been planning a special present – best not to share here as I know he does peek in on occasion! I’ll be able to give it to him in person next week as we will all be seeing each other at my brother’s wedding next week.

I was pleased therefore to be able to complete the actual card for Dad last weekend and my scrapping day:

And you just know that I was acknowledging my very bad habit when I purchased A Little Birthday Cheer don’t you?!

It just goes to show that there is never a bad time to send a card – even if you have missed the actual date. Better late than never is a great motto for many reasons!!

With this male card, I’ve kept it clean – lots of straight, crisp lines. A bit of hardware along with some piercing began to give the card some manliness. Dad’s birthday is also either in the beginning of the indian summer – or in the case of this year, at the beginning of the autumnal season. So I decided to give his card an autumnal feel by colouring the oak leaves with blender pens. Playing off the crispness is the sentiment – I’ve distressed that simply by running my lovely sharp scissors along the edge. The three red dots were made by punching out 1/8″ circles using my Crop-A-Dile. Now, this tool is one I’ve held off getting for quite some time – it seemed a tad excessive in my mind. Having used it almost every day since I got it late last year, I’m kicking myself for not getting it earlier!! The ease with which it punches, sets, squeezes…. oh my goodness it’s good!! And the best thing? Hubby no longer comes in to see what on earth I’m making all that banging noise for like he used to when I was setting eyelets!!

And yes, that is the FREE Vintage Labels set working so well on the front of the card. Have you got your free Sale-A-Bration set yet? Don’t forget that the promotion ends 31 March so be sure to get your $120 order in to me before then.

Materials

Stamps: A Little Birthday Cheer 116382 $30.95, Lovely As A Tree 116388 $57.95, Vintage Labels SAB only
Cardstock: Night of Navy 106577, Ruby Red 106572 packs of 24 $12.50  Whisper White 106549 pack of 40 $16.25
Ink: Ruby Red, Pumpkin Pie, Close to Cocoa Stampin Write Markers $6.75, Stazon Black $17.95

Other: Silver brads 104336 $15.95, Mat Pack 105826 $22.50, Crop-A-Dile 108362 $64.95, Stamp-A-Ma-Jig 101049 $26.95, Blender Pens 102845 $22.50 (3 pack)

One Comment
  1. March 6, 2010 8:27 pm

    This is a stunner Kelly!!

Comments are closed.

