Skip to content

Always Hearts

February 14, 2010

Valentine’s Day itself isn’t something Hubby and I have regularly celebrated. I think in the past 16 years or so, there has definitely been flowers or tokens exchange, but they have definitely been hit and miss. These days, we celebrate a little earlier – with our Anniversary. And even THAT can get tricky…. we were married officially 14 months prior to our Wedding. Two dates to remember??! We’ve now been married 12 years and celebrated our 10th Anniversary this year.

As luck would have it, we won a trip for two to Queenstown which we are taking at the end of March – so looking forward to that!!

Anyhoo, as I was prepping for a workshop being held on the 13th, I suddenly realised that I had a date coming up to be acknowledged…yikes! (Yes, it DOES get tricky with the two dates!!). Seeing as I was doing something along the lines of a Valentines card make & Take for the girls, I decided to adapt the design a little for Hubby. Being the slightly-non-mushy-variety of Hubby that he is, he loved it’s simplicity. Phew! Got away with that one!!

And, seeing as I was in the company of Keryn while I was making the card, I found out that this week’s Daring Cardmakers dare was something with a heart. Awesome – I usually don’t have the time to do a seperate card so love it when the one I’m making falls into their challenges.

This card’s inspiration started with the wonderful heart from Always (113007, $66.95) and teamed up with the fantastically fun Heart to Heart punch (113694, $35.95). This punch and the Full Heart punch co-ordinate beautifully with the I {heart} Hearts stamp set in the Summer Mini. Don’t forget purchasing that set will contribute to the Stampin Up Haiti relief fund – and to help that cause, I’m paying for the shipping on all orders with that includes that lovely set. Call me (565 4407) or email me if you want to place an order.

Another thought struck me while I was prepping and making Hubby’s card…. having seen the fun with all the kiddo stuff from America, I’m beginning to soften and think I’ve been a littlel too critical on the whole V’Day deal. Sure, it’s a great marketing ploy…. but how much fun can be had sending the Mr’s off to school with some extra love in their bag for their friends?? Hmmmmmmmmm………. maybe this time next year, I’ll have softened enough with the ever-so-slightly-cynicsm to send them off with something special!! Maybe.

2 Comments
  1. February 14, 2010 9:14 pm

    what a gorgeous card – such beautiful colours! thanks for sharing the love with DCM this week 🙂

  2. February 15, 2010 7:31 am

    Gorgeous card but even better IRL.

Comments are closed.

