Skip to content

Pocket Wreath

January 28, 2010

I’m demonstrating a few masking techniques on Monday night at the Card club I go along to once a month. Now, for those that know me, masking is something I’ve always been a bit nervous about – it seemed awfully hard. But if I can master the techniques, then anyone can! So over the last few nights, I’ve been putting together some samples. This particular style I found late last year when I was searching for Christmas Card ideas. I don’t know where I would have seen it first, but here is someone that has done a lovely job of it.

And here is mine:

I was very pleasantly surprised to see how well the colours worked together. I’ve used Always Artichoke, Sage Shadow and Riding Hood Red. That’s three colours from across three colour families. Proof positive how easy it is to colour match with the Stampin Up colours!

Now as I was putting it together, I figured it was the wrong time of year to actually do a Christmas card, so I’ve turned it into a sympathy card. I think with the beautiful sentiment of “Thinking of you” it could easily be a hi there card. You can never have enough just-for-fun reasons to send a card to someone! TIP: Think outside the square when you see a card you’d like to make but think it’s not the right time. Also – those Pocket Silhouette stamps…. not the usual kind of Christmas Card image… but how you use them can easily turn them into something different!

If you would like me to come and demonstrate a technique or two to you and some friends, I’m happy to come to you whether it’s a private class or a workshop. Workshops at the moment are so worthwhile  – everyone gets the chance to earn a free stamp set! Give me a call (565 4407) or email me to discuss some dates.

2 Comments
  1. January 28, 2010 8:20 pm

    Lovely card Kelly as always!

  2. January 29, 2010 7:55 am

    Gorgeous photo. It looks just as good here as it did in person.

Comments are closed.

