Skip to content

Clearance Items selling out

January 15, 2010

The Inventory Clearance sale is really steaming along. Two of the sets I’d been eyeing up have now sold out. Luckily then, I got my order in! Currently, the following sets are sold out:

  • 116376  Jumbo Outline Alphabet set
  • 111983  Just Riding
  • 112370  Wild West Alphabet Set.

The good news is that although the older inventory of Square Cut sets of these clearance items are no longer available, YOU CAN STILL PURCHASE THESE ITEMS at the regular price. Customers who order these items will receive the stamp sets in the new, die-cut configuration.

If you have been after one of the sets listed in the Clearance Sale, now is a really good time to order them – some of those items are up to 50% off!

I’ve actually had my eye on a few of those sets, and as a demonstrator, I try to be strong and “earn” the sets I want. But at when specials get waved under your nose, you just know my will-power wavers! I’m super glad I ordered the Outline Jumbo alphas, and the Just Riding set to name a couple.

We’ve got one of the neighbourhood boys leaving our primary school and heading off to Intermediate at the start of the school year. He turns 11 in a couple of weeks. I find male cards quite hard to design in general, but those tween to teens are that little bit tougher! The Just Riding set sure came to my rescue! A bit of grunging here, a little roughing there, and I’m super pleased with the result:

One of the things I chose to do for this card is to sponge and and distress the edges – that grungy ffect sure stops a card looking too girly! Teamed with some deeper colours, I think the card successfully leaps into male territory. One other thing I often do when using colours like this, and distressing techniques, is to choose to work with an off-white. Whether that is Whisper White that has had some kind of treatment, or as in this case, using Very Vanilla all helps to give it that slightly more extreme look to the card.

Kelly’s Stampin Spot Tips:

Using stamps in a different way can help carry a theme:  here I’ve used the small, floral circles from Boho Backgrounds as they looked like tiny, spoked wheels.

Make your punches do double duty: I used my 1/2″ circle punch to create the “ticket” corners by turning it over and aligning the point of each corner with the lines of the punch’s circles. Have a look at yours – you’ll see they have lines crossing in the middle and they make great guides for taking just a 1/4 circle!

Make the most of dimension: The brad I’ve chosen to use is quite heavy and could easily start buckling the card into the card base. To prevent this from happening, as well as using a few dimensionals around the edges of the card to create a lifted look, I’ve popped a dimensional around the word window, near the brad. This helps to support the main image panel and keep it lifted from the base.

The Inventory Clearance Sale finishes 24 January – if stamps you want are on the list, give me a call or send me an email with your order before they sell out.

Materials

Stamps: Just Riding 115926 $28.95, Boho Backgrounds 116346 $35.95, A Little Birthday Cheer 116382 $30.95, Everyday Flexible Phrases (retired)
Cardstock: Always Artichoke, Brocade Blue, Very Vanilla
Ink: Always Artichoke, Brocade Blue Stampin’ Spots, Going Grey Classic Inkpad

Other: Word Window punch, 1/2″ circle punch, Star Designer Brads 112572 $13.95

One Comment
  1. January 17, 2010 10:47 am

    What a cute window. And you have made a great boy’s card! Thanks for playing a Hole In One with DCM this week:)

Comments are closed.

