Skip to content

Pretty Acrylic Butterfly Prints

January 8, 2010

I’ve been playing in my craft room today. Lovely and sunny as it is, the whole family seemed to have something to do to keep themselves occupied. And as I managed to clean out a whole lot of items from wardrobes yesterday, I felt quite justified in putting together some samples! Here’s one I’ve been rolling around in my head for a bit. I’ve been wanting to play with the clear card idea – as well as play with the new Butterfly Prints set from the Summer mini.

It helped that there is a Butterfly challenge that was put up on the NZSU site as well!

Clear cards are a little trickier than the usual kind – being clear, you have to think about what the card is going to look like on both sides of the clear medium you are using. Hiding the adhesive is the main challenge! On this card, clever placement of a butterfly body, and a second punch for another butterfly from the inside have hidden where I’ve used adhesive.

One of the reasons clear cards are so fun to make is because they really have a definite “Wow!” factor about them. And guess what? I have a class coming up – Friday 5 February, at 7.30pm. You can go here to RSVP, email me or if you prefer to call, tel 565 4407. At the end of the class, you’ll have tried several techniques over 3 cards that you’ll get to take home. Be sure to sign up for the class quickly though – places will be limited and RSVPs will be essential. And if you place an order on the night of the class of $70 or greater, I’ll reduce the class price to just $10. (Don’t forget, orders placed during 25 Jan – 31 March will qualify for Sale-A-Bration if they meet those minimums).

If you have any questions about the class, feel free to email me.

Materials

Stamps: Butterfly Prints 117711,  set of 5, $29.95 – Summer Mini, Great Friend (from Spring Mini)
Cardstock: Baja Breeze, DSP: Urban Garden
Ink: Not Quite Navy classic inkpad, Baja Breeze classic inkpad, Black Stazon

Other: Butterfly punch, acrylic sheet (non-SU)


Comments are closed.

