Skip to content

Happy December!

December 1, 2009

I can scarcely believe that it really is December. But when my diary, my watch, my computer and my phone all say the same thing, I’m thinking it really is! I now have two weeks exactly until my children are on Christmas Holidays…. Holy Smokes Batman!! 😯

For all the preparation and the organisation started earlier in the year, as always, I still have many items on my To Do list. How many others out there are in the same boat?? Come on, put your hands up! 😆

But today is an exciting day in the Stampin’ Up! Calendar. Today the Summer Mini goes live. And there are some truly great new gadgets, stamp sets and toys to play with. If you haven’t already received your copy of the Summer Mini, be sure to drop me a line or call me to get a copy sent to you.

One of the very neat new tools that I have just LOVED playing with is the Circle Scissors. Imagine circles and rings any size you like up to six inches….! It’s a lot easier to use than I thought it would be. PLUS, you can also use it to draw perfect circle – super awesome for getting those titles around a neat circle!

In amongst the pre-Christmas build-up (not to mention the Christmas card production that is still in place here!), I’ve really enjoyed having a play. I also enjoyed recreating a card that I spotted on Julia Lease’s site. Now this card makes for a very quick and easy to produce card. There could well be more than one or two of these leaving the premises by the weekend! Not only did I use the Circle Scissors to produce the mask, I then kept the mask in place to sponge through. It creates a lovely looking bauble type image then.

If you are like me and you resisted (somehow!) the temptation to get the Tree Trimmings set, you might not have the “string” from which to hang your ornament. No problems. Either call my upline and ask to borrow her set (can you tell I might have done this??!!) or take your Chocolate Chip Stampin’write marker and draw it free-hand. It’s really not that scary AND it adds a lovely handmade touch to an already lovely card.

Now I prefer the weight of card that the coloured SU cardstock has. If you do too, you have a couple of options. Do what I’ve done and use a colour as your base and then use some co-ordinating DSP (Ski-Slope here… now gone which is really tragic as I LOVED this particular set of DSP). OR, use Confetti White cardstock – you’ll find that on page 130 with the other neutral cardstocks. It’s a brilliant alternative to the Whisper White – which we all know and LOVE for its ability to hold a stamped image soooo very well.

So if you’ve managed to make your way through my almost manic chat (I LOVE this time of year, but I do get a bit manic in the excitement of it all. Just a bit. Not so you’d notice or anything…. ) and then you’ve realised “hold on, Kelly. What is this sponging, or masking for that matter??” you might have just found a great reason to  host your own workshop. Make a date with me and some mates, and let me tell you about all sorts of masking and sponging techniques. I can promise you in real life I’m a little less manic. Well, just a bit!

In the meantime, grab a cuppa, settle in and peruse your way through the new mini online.

Til next time, happy crafting!

Materials

Stamps: Season of Joy113023,  set of 8 $60.95
Cardstock: Old Olive, Whisper White, SkiSlope DSP (from Spring Mini)
Ink: Old Olive classic inkpad, Chocolate Chip Stampin’Write marker

Other: Circle Scissors (Summer Mini, begins TODAY), 1/4″ Chocolate Chip Grosgrain

 

 

Comments are closed.

