Skip to content

Found Inspiration: Colour

October 29, 2009

Readers of my newsletter will know that last month I included a picture of a favourite shirt of mine to see how that might have jumpstarted some inspired creativity.

09 Oct Shirt

I have to laugh a little because in the photo it looks more like a colour melting pot than a shirt! Please believe me that it actually looks great when worn rather than flung over the PC monitor for a photo!! 😆

One of the reasons I really love this shirt is the very strong colours used – they’re not ones I would normally pick for myself, and I’m not one to usually pick such a busy pattern. Yet, I found it became one of my most worn tops over the summer. I think the strong colours actually appealed to me more than I realised, and it is the colours that I picked to used in a project.

Again, they’re colours I’ve rarely used – if ever. But the fact I love this shirt so much gave me the courage to give it a try. With the colour palette in mind, my next challenge was to pick a stamp set and design that would work well. In the end, I decided on “Always”. That little birdie really deserves more outings than I’ve given him so far!

IMG_0163

With so many strong colours in there competing for attention, it’s important to take note of a couple of design rules. I operated under teaspoon, cup, litre rule… Yeah, I’ve made those names up, but you know what I mean! The actual name of the rule eludes me (possibly because they are imperical measurements and I just have no clue on them!!) but the premise is to use a lot of one colour, less of the second and just a smidgen of the third or fourth colours.

And having done this challenge myself, I want to see your creations! I’d love to see what you do with this colour scheme so make sure you link back to me in the comments.

So there you have it. A project inspired by something found. For this and more creative information and inspiration, be sure to join my mailing list to receive my monthly newsletter. You’ll receive news, information and creative ideas once a month in your inbox.

sign up form

IMG_0167

Materials

Stamps: Always 113007,  set of 11, 66.95, Sweet Little Sentiments level 1 Hostess
Cardstock: Whisper White, Taken with Teal, Elegant Eggplant
Ink: Taken with Teal inkspot, Elegant Eggplant inkspot, Creamy Caramel Stampin’ Write marker, Chocolate Chip Stampin’ Write marker

Other: Stampin Dimensionals

Comments are closed.

