Skip to content

Simple to Dressed

September 30, 2009

When looking at the many, many creations from card makers online these days, you can see that there are many, many different styles. One style that I love are the super layered and detailed cards. I really enjoy looking at all the attention to detail and the way the card has been created in a very intricate manner. Yet, that is not the style of card that I produce. Try and I might, my efforts tend to look like I hiccupped and tripped over, while dumping whatever was in my hands right on top of that piece of cardstock I was working with.

Yup. Not a good look in my hands.

I’ve come to realise over time that my style is a whole lot simpler. And luckily for me – and others just like me! – there is evidence on the internet that not all cards needs to be super dressed…. Simple cards can work just as well.

However, there are times when I want my style to have a little more window dressing. Sometimes, the simpler version just isn’t quite enough to carry the idea in my head. Thankfully, there is a happy medium.

P9100670

This first card has been left with the basics. DSP and cardstock has been layered in a simple way. Detail is given by way of the border punch and the colouring (blender pen this time!). It’s a clean look to a card – and one that works just fine for me.

P9100672

By adding a few more touches, the card feels a little more finished to me. The line of piercing along the top echoes the eyelet holes along the bottom row, sponging along the edges of the cards has given it some depth and warmth, a brad in the centre of the flower gives dimension and interest. Likewise, the sentiment has been grounded with some sponging to define the edge and popped on to a contrasting mat layer.

By adding these few extra touches, the card has added warmth that I think reflects the sentiment behind the card. It is by no means as super detailed as some of those gorgeous cards that get created, but for a girl with a simple style, it is definitely more dressed up! Proof positive that Simple cards can also wear glad rags! 🙂

P9100673

signature

2 Comments
  1. October 1, 2009 7:40 am

    I am so lifting this idea if you don’t mind.

    Amazing what a little tweak can do, take a card from lovely to stunning !!!

    I have the stamps and punch for the flowers I think.

  2. October 2, 2009 1:29 pm

    Fantastic Kelly – you did a great job!
    I espeically like the line of piercing – it just finishes it off nicely.
    Watercolouring with the aquapen seems to be a talent of yours, keep it up! I look forward to seeing more of your work.

Comments are closed.

