Skip to content

It’s funny how inspiration can twist and turn

September 4, 2009

A while back I was sufing along as you do on the net and came across a card I liked the look of from Liz Hick’s blog.

I could have sworn that was white, heat embossed Lovely as a Tree onto vellum cardstock. Loving the look of that, I wanted to have a go at that. So I managed to come up with this card:

P8270669

I really like the way this came out – embossing on the Vellum Cardstock really is a very neat effect! Because the weight of the vellum cardstock is heavier than the ordinary vellum, also stocked by Stampin’ Up!, it handles the embossing very nicely. The glue you can see in the photo became less noticeable once it was dry – I need to learn to be patient I think! LOL

But here is the twist in this little tale. I saw a version of the top card in amongst Sharlene’s swap samples the other day – and it wasn’t heat embossed vellum at all! Turns out it was masking and white craft ink. So now you know! Can anyone guess what I could be playing with next??! 😆

Materials
Stamps: Lovely as a Tree $57.95, Trendy Trees $37.95
Cardstock: Chocolate Chip, Old Olive, Not Quite Navy All A4. Specialty: Vellum Cardstock 106584 $14.75
Ink: Old Olive classic inkpad $13.95, Whisper White Craft inkpad $16.50

Other: Old Olive 5/8″ grosgrain, Scallop Oval Punch (mini catalogue -$35.95), Large Oval punch, White Stampin’ Emboss powder $10.95, Silver brads $15.95, 1/2″ circle punch (to make “ticket” corners)

signature

Comments are closed.

