Skip to content

40th Birthday cards

August 15, 2009

Last week, Hubby and his twin brother turned 40. I needed to make not one, but two cards. And being 40 and being masculine cards, I got a little stumped. Then I laid eyes on the Thoughts and Prayers set. I seriously love how versatile this set is. Not only is it beautiful for both religious and non-religious occasions, both trees are simply gorgeous images that lend themselves to almost any theme you care to name. Select the right colours and you move between feminine and masculine as easy as pie. How many stamps can you think of that work so well in soooo many settings?

Anyway, once I decided which stamps I was going to use, I set to work.

40th card

This one saw me take some inspiration from the We Stamp sketch challenge. I actually can’t believe I have a total of 8 layers on this! And I think I found my new favourite colour combo: Not Quite Navy + Old Olive. So nice!

40th M

And on this card I got to use my seriously underutilised Label Nestibilities. Love how the nestibilities offer a nice way to sponge a frame around your image. Wait, maybe this colour combo is another favourite – Chocolate Chip and Baja Breeze.

signature

4 Comments
  1. August 15, 2009 9:04 pm

    Those trees look so cool … and both colour combinations are awesome. You know I’ve just added another stamp set and a couple of ink pads to my ever increasing wish list!

  2. August 25, 2009 9:32 am

    Kells, need to make a male 21st card and am stumped, so copying these ok?

    Using all Stampin’ up products though 🙂

    Now have my one of a kind stamp too. 😛

    • August 25, 2009 10:25 am

      Copy away!! I want to see the results though!

  3. August 25, 2009 9:59 am

    Don’t worry, mine looks nothing like yours, yet I was looking at yours for inspiration. Go figure !!! lol.

Comments are closed.

