Skip to content

Paper Piercing around a curve – a tutorial!

August 6, 2009

My Mr 8 has been begging me for a note book just like the one I am offering to give away here. So this morning I sat down and started working on one for him. Lucky him, I used the Ginger Blossom DSP that is now retired. I really loved this set of DSP and I don’t have that much left.

While I was working on it, I was trying to figure out how to decorate the front. I knew he’d want something a little similar to the front I did on the first notebook, but decided a bulky look might not work for him. So I settled on a monogram using the great Lovely Letters set. The M was inked carefully using 3 different markers to bring out the colours from the cardstock and DSP – Ruby Red, Cameo Coral and Chocolate Chip. In order to dress it up a little, I did decided to add a tiny paper clip from the Clips Assortment and frame the spot with some paper piercing.

monogram

While I was doing the piercing, using the mat pack rather than by eye, I remembered a friend asking if it was possible to pierce on a curve using the mat pack around a circle or an oval… Seeing as I had the camera handy, I decided to do a very quick tutorial. So, D, I hope you find this handy! Oh, and please be kind in your comments – this is the first time I’ve ever used the “movie mode” to do somthing like this!!! 😆 Enjoy!

Well, I hoped you managed to survive that without laughing too much at the artistic shots!! If you have a go at piercing after seeing this, make sure you send me a link to your example – I would LOVE to see your efforts too.

signature

PS: I have NO idea what Mr 8 plans to use the notebook for, but now, hopefully, he’ll stop trying to make off with my other one!!

5 Comments
  1. Teresa permalink
    August 6, 2009 3:26 pm

    Your tutorial was great. I never would have thought of using the mat pack like this. Your video was great too. Thank you for sharing.

  2. August 6, 2009 7:02 pm

    that’s clever – well done

  3. Kris permalink
    August 6, 2009 9:07 pm

    Very cool – WTG for working that out, I would never have thought you could do an oval with that!

  4. August 7, 2009 1:23 pm

    Great tutorial – your nails look lovely! I’ll have to try that when my punch arrives.

    D.

  5. August 9, 2009 3:19 pm

    That’s cool Kelly! Well done :o)

Comments are closed.

