Skip to content

Scalloped Thanks

June 29, 2009

Well, it’s been a while since I last updated this blog. I had my dad up from Christchurch visiting last week and it was fun to just do some different things. The Mr’s and he got to spend some time together one on one as a special birthday treat. Each Mr was treated to an afternoon tea of their choice and were allowed to pick out something they wanted. It was quite interesting to see what exactly each chose.

I had a workshop on the Wednesday before Dad went home so some time was spent preparing for that. It was quite funny watching him take an interest in the preparations. He even asked some quite interesting questions – which I had to think about. The solutions I suggested to his questions would make for an interesting demonstration I think!

For this particular workshop, I decided I wanted a couple of quite simple cards to demonstrate. One looked quite simple and I had fun working with the Stamp-a-ma-jig for that one! However, this little sample went down a real treat – it really was a simple card to do. It’s a 3.5 inch wee notecard and I love the fact I got to use one of my favourite stamp setsL Say it With Scallops. I loved this set when it first appeared in a mini and try to find reasons to use it as often as I can! Each stamp works perfectly with the co-ordinating Scallop Square.

P6290645_filtered

To make this card:

Cut a piece of textured cardstock 7 inches by 3.5. Score and fold across the middle to form a 3.5 inch square card.

Cut a strip of Not Quite Navy textured cardstock 1.5 x 3.5 inches. Cut a strip of DSP (Urban Garden) 1×3.5 inches and adhere in the centre of the cardstock strip. Using your mat-pack, pierce a line of holes down each side of the DSP. TIP: the Mat-Pack comes with a template perfect for spacing the holes, as well as for placement of eyelets and brads. Adhere this finished strip to the left of the card front.

Colour the “Thank You Enough” stamp with Going Grey ink, then with the Not Quite Navy Stampin’ Write Marker go over the scalloped edges. TIP: the Stampin’ Write Markers are great for multi-coloured images. Quickly “Huff” to ensure the ink is nicely warm and moist, and stamp the image on Whisper White cardstock. Punch the image out with the Scallop Square punch.

Layer the stamp image onto a a square scrap of Not Quite Navy – approximately 4×4 cm (I know…. I move between the measurement units!!) Adhere the layered squares in the middle of the strip, slightly offset from the centre.

To finish, I’ve simply used the Mat-Pack to pierce three holes – you could easily pop in brad or buttons instead.

Materials
Stamps: Say it with Scallops
Cardstock: Going Grey 12 x12 textured, Not Quite Navy 12×12 textured cardstock, DSP: Urban Garden
Ink: Going Grey Classic inkpad; Not Quite Navy Stampin’ Write markers

Other: Scallop Square punch, Mat Pack

In other great Stampin’ Up news: I received a copy of the new Mini Catalogue in the mail this morning. It’s got some great new things in it and I’m already getting ideas for demonstrations and classes!! I’ll be hosting a Mini-Catalogue Launch at the beginning of August. If you would like to come along let me know and I’ll be sure to pop an invitation in the post to you.

And speaking of classes…. Check out my new Class List page – it details the new classes I have planned. Don’t forget you can always ask me for another date if the ones I’ve set don’t work for you.

signature

One Comment
  1. June 30, 2009 11:42 am

    Oooo, nice. I was just checking blogs as I make my own thank you cards, lol. I love my stampin’ up punches and want more.

    Of course, I also NEED the matching stamps. My wish list is getting bigger, lol.

Comments are closed.

